The Municipality of Epidaurus is a municipality of the Peloponnese Region that was established with the Kallikratis program on January 1, 2011, from the integration of the municipality of Asklipieio in the pre-existing Municipality of Epidaurus. Its area is 338.06 sq.km. and its population of 8,115 inhabitants according to the 2011 census, compared to 9,275 inhabitants in 2001.

It is located in the east of the prefecture and a large part of it is washed by the Saronic Gulf. It borders the municipalities of Nafplio, Corinth and Ermionida.

The seat of the municipality is Ligourio and the historical seat is Palea Epidavros. .

Old Epidaurus is located on the site of Ancient Epidaurus. From the ancient city are preserved a few ruins and its theater, which is used in the summer as a place of the Epidaurus Festival. The most important sights of the municipality are the ancient theater of Epidaurus, which is one of the best preserved ancient theaters in Greece, famous for its excellent acoustics and the Small Theater of Epidaurus located in Old Epidaurus.

You might also like